Bass Rock Gannets in the 2nd World Seabird Twitter Conference

Just a short post from me today about the 2nd World Seabird Twitter Conference taking place this week.

 

On Wednesday 14th April I will be presenting some of my work on three-dimensional gannet flight in my first international conference – via Twitter!

Twitter conferences are a fantastic medium, not only for enabling scientists to communicate and exchange information but also for providing a unique opportunity for the general public to find out about and engage with the work of scientists around the world.

It’s a really simple format: scientists will be tweeting about their work throughout the 13th and 14th April. Each presentation will take the form of 6 tweets over a 15 minute period. This year 71 scientists from 11 countries will be taking part. So if you’re interested in the work I’ve been doing or finding out more about other seabird research taking place around the globe, then be sure to tune in. And here’s how you can …

Already on twitter? Log in on Wed 13th and Thursday 14th April and follow the event with the hashtag #WSTC2. The first tweets will start at 11am BST (10am UTC).

Not on twitter? Seabirds.net will be streaming all the tweets live so you can be a conference spectator without having to negotiate and learn a new social media tool!

I (@heyjooode) will be tweeting about my work with the Bass Rock gannets on Wednesday 14th April at 1pm BST (12pm UTC) – hope you can join me!

Other gannet presentations to check out are:

13th April

@Harriet_Clark_ at 10.45 BST (11.45 UTC) discussing the potential of new 3G GPS tags to provide information about important at-sea areas for a previously untracked gannet population

@v_warwickevans at 12.15 BST (11.15 UTC) on the potential impacts of wind farms on gannets in the English Channel

14th April

@JamesGrecian at 12.30 BST (11.30 UTC) talking about the differences in the foraging behaviour of immature and adult gannets (using data collected on Bass Rock last summer)

@BethanyClark36 at 12.45 BST (11.45 UTC) discussing her work on gannet sensory ecology using 3D tracking and accelerometry